H 52° L 36°
Rain | 14MPH

Celebrations: June 18

June 16, 2009


• Amanda Ebert and Lee Reindl of Brookfield are parents of a daughter, Elyse Ana Ebert, born May 18, 2009, at Community Memorial Hospital. She was 8 pounds, 15 ounces and 21 inches.


Alex Keppel, a 2004 graduate of Brookfield East High School, graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison on May 17. He majored in meteorology and plans to attend Chicago State School of Pharmacy in the fall.

Emma Konkel of Brookfield graduated summa cum laude with a degree in packaging science from Clemson University, South Carolina. She also received the Outstanding Senior Award from Packaging World, a trade journal.

Gabriela Smeltzer of Brookfield received an associate degree from the University of Wisconsin-Waukesha on May 21. She will pursue a degree in elementary education at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in fall.

Ciarán Bradley of Elm Grove received a master's degree from the Medical College of Wisconsin on May 15. He is the son of Henry and Elizabeth Bradley of Elm Grove. He plans on completing his general surgery residency at the Medical College of Wisconsin, then pursuing fellowship training in surgical oncology.

Michael Heil of Brookfield was named to the University of Minnesota Carlson School of Management Dean's List for the spring 2009 semester. Michael is a 2008 graduate of Brookfield Central High School and the son of Kevin and Barbara Heil of Brookfield.

Sarah Cotton Ratzel of Suwanee, Ga., formerly of Elm Grove, was named to the Dean's List at Washington and Lee University for the recently ended winter term.

Natalie D. Buikema of Brookfield was named to the Dean's List at Trinity Christian College, Palos Heights, Ill., for the spring 2009 semester.

Robert Peters and Shannon Young of Brookfield received bachelor's degrees from Lakeland College on May 3.

Kimberly Pater of Brookfield was named to the Beloit College spring 2009 dean's list.

Kathryn Kuffel Jr. of Brookfield was named to the University of Minnesota Duluth's spring 2009 dean's list.

Jennifer Lanser and Daniel Sturgill of Brookfield graduated from Ripon College this spring.

• The following students were named to the Dean's List at Marquette University for the spring 2009 semester: Christina Akers, Alexander Ashland, Jennifer Baker, Jaclyn Bielefeld, Alexandra Bonesho, Natalie Bruders, Christina Brueck, Nicholas Chmurski, Caryn Deeken, Krista Dombeck, Sara Duffey, Riad El-Azem, Christopher Engel, Taylor Gilsinger, Kun Wen Goh, Lauren Goodspeed, Rebecca Goossen, Shannon Gregg, Michael Greuel, Kevin Griffiths, Claire Heighway, Emily Henn, Jonathan Hizmi, Donald Jankowski, Colleen Kenney, Daniel Lephardt, Ryan McCauley, Britta Munzenmaier, Erin Neary, Nicholas Otten, Maura Otto, Frances Palzewicz, Patrick Reardon, Eric Reigle, Trevor Rich, John Roddy, Matthew Santilli, Shirley Sciacca, Katherine Sheahan, Bridget St. Peter, Katherine Thometz, Erin Touhey, Ashley Woyak, and Amy Ziegler - Brookfield; Andrew Brahm,Blake Brigman, Elizabeth Crane, Jon-Ross Crow, Michele Derdzinski, Margaret Hughes, Brian Jacobson, Katherine Kannall, Thomas Kelly, Erica Lanser, Allison McBride, Kelsey Palmer, Kathryn Rice, Bridget Smith, Robert Stone, Lindsey Townsley, Erin Trettin, Alexander Vincent and Nicole Voigt - Elm Grove.

Robert Peters and Shannon Young of Brookfield received bachelor's degrees from Lakeland College on May 3.


John Ertl, a senior at Brookfield Central, and Kirsten Norderhaug, a sophomore at Brookfield Academy, were the 2008-09 Voice of Democracy essay winners. They received the award from the Veterans of Foreign Wars in April. Norderhaug also was a 2009 Americanism essay competition.

Margaret Davis of Elm Grove was awarded $1,500 as the winner in the Elm Grove Junior Guild scholarship contest for her essay about a mission trip to the Working Boys Center in Quito, Ecuador, she took. She is a senior at Divine Savior Holy Angels.

Kaitlin Marie Wollak, a student at Brookfield East High School, has been awarded a four-year, cumulative $10,000 scholarship from the J.C. and L.A. Duke Scholarship Fund from the Saint Paul Foundation. Kaitlin will be attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison this fall.

Send Celebrations submissions to

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Suburban News Roundup

E-mail Newsletter

Your link to the biggest stories in the suburbs delivered Thursday mornings.

Enter your e-mail address above and click "Sign Up Now!" to begin receiving your e-mail newsletter
Get the Newsletter!

Login or Register to manage all your newsletter preferences.

Most Popular

Local Crime Map


Latest Photo Galleries